Take Action

Some GOOD NEWS for 2021

Maryland State Seal

Montgomery County begins the year with two ambitious plans for creating a better county—plans that we as League members are studying and will observe in their implementation.

  • See the draft Climate Action Plan just released for public review. The plan moves the County to cutting greenhouse gas emissions by 100% by 2035 and has a significant impact on residents’ daily life in the process.
    LWVMC will host county climate coordinator, Adrianna Hochberg, in a review of the plan on February 22, 2021. Save the date and watch for details.
  • The Racial Equity & Social Justice Act creates a racial equity lens for evaluating how county bills and department actions are intentionally designed to guarantee justice for all. League committees will watch the implementation.